EMIS Change 24-60: Adds program codes for entering kindergartners Public Comment open from April 11 through May 10

EMIS Change 24-60

This change adds new program codes for entering kindergartners. These codes describe the student's preschool experience. This reporting is required by <u>ORC 3301.0714(B)(3)(b)</u>. Reporting these program codes is optional for FY24; it will be required in FY25.

SECTION 2.9: STUDENT PROGRAM (GQ) RECORD

Major Program Code Groupings

Pre-Kindergarten Experiences. This set of program codes (8000xx) should be reported for every kindergarten student upon entering kindergarten for the first time. This information likely will come from what the parent and/or guardian shares with the school when the child enrolls in kindergarten. These codes are not required to be reported for students who have already completed one or more years of kindergarten. The purpose of these codes is to report the student's attendance at a preschool program in the 2 years prior to starting kindergarten.

The time that students attended a Department-licensed preschool that reports preschool students to EMIS does not need to be included. Department-licensed preschools are operated by public districts, community schools, Educational Service Center, JVSDs, and the State Schools for the Blind and Deaf (OSB and OSD).

Multiple program codes can be reported; for example, if a child attended a Head Start when they were 3 years old and a private preschool when they were 4 years old, report both program codes.

Program Code Schedule

		Student (S)			Student (S)		
	Program	Trad			CS/STEM		Grad
Student Program Code(s) Categories	<u>Series</u>	Initial	Midyear	Final	Initial	Final	<u>(G)</u>
Entering Kindergartner	<u>8000xx</u>	\checkmark	\mathbf{i}	\mathbf{i}	\checkmark	\checkmark	

KINDERGARTNERS

Pre-Kindergartner Experiences Program Codes

Program	
<u>Code</u>	Description
<u>800010</u>	Head Start Preschool, 0-11 months
	Student attended a Head Start preschool for less than 1 year (0-11 months) any time in the
	2 years prior to starting kindergarten.
800015	Head Start Preschool, 12 months or more
	Student attended a Head Start preschool for 1 year (12 months) or more any time in the 2
	years prior to starting kindergarten.

Program	
<u>Code</u>	Description
<u>800020</u>	Preschool (Other than Head Start), 0-11 months
	Student attended preschool (other than Head Start) for less than 1 year (0-11 months) any
	time in the 2 years prior to starting kindergarten. This includes childcare programs licensed
	by the Ohio Department of Job & Family Services and preschool programs licensed by the
	Ohio Department of Education that do not report preschool students to EMIS (e.g., non-
	public districts, nonpublic schools, and developmental disabilities organizations). Examples
	include centers, preschool classrooms in private childcare programs, family homes, and pri-
	vate schools.
<u>800025</u>	Preschool (Other than Head Start), 12 months or more
	Student attended preschool (other than Head Start) for 1 year (12 months) or more any
	time in the 2 years prior to starting kindergarten. This includes childcare programs licensed
	by the Ohio Department of Job & Family Services and preschool programs licensed by the
	Ohio Department of Education that do not report preschool students to EMIS (e.g., non-
	public districts, nonpublic schools, and developmental disabilities organizations). Examples
	include centers, preschool classrooms in private childcare programs, family homes, and pri-
	vate schools.
<u>800030</u>	Not Identified/Other, 0-11 months
	Student attended preschool for less than 1 year (0-11 months) any time in the 2 years prior
	to starting kindergarten; however, the type of preschool program is unknown or does not
	fit any other program code option. This includes unlicensed provider preschool experi-
	ences.
<u>800035</u>	Not Identified/Other, 12 months or more
	Student attended preschool for 1 year (12 months) or more any time in the 2 years prior to
	starting kindergarten; however, the type of preschool program is unknown or does not fit
	any other program code options. This includes unlicensed provider preschool experiences.
<u>800040</u>	None
	Student did not attend any preschool program prior to enrolling in kindergarten.